Saying Goodbye

Standard
Saying Goodbye

It’s different as an expat when you say goodbye, from when you are leaving your home for an expat assignment.  In the back of your mind when you pack up everything to head for an assignment, you know you’ll be back – at some point.  Sometimes you actually have a house left empty, just waiting for you.  Even if you don’t, you view expat assignments as temporary:  you know you won’t settle there, so leaving friends behind at home is more of a “might not see you for a couple of years, but I will see you soon!” experience.

Returning home, you now have to say goodbye to good friends you’ve made, and the odds are not good that you’ll see them again.  Perhaps one or two that may be on your side of the world at some point.  But in general, Goodbye is not “So Long” or “See you soon!”

I have been blessed meeting a number of wonderful people on our assignment.  And I’m in my last weeks of activities, while at the same time working with packers and planners to get everything set to head back to the States in June.

The American Women’s Association International Choir (AWAIC) had our last concert of the season  last night.   It was a time for me to say ‘Goodbye’ to an amazing group of women.  I was welcomed warmly two years ago, even though I hadn’t sung in years. We’ve had a lot of fun, and enjoyed sharing our love of music with organizations around Singapore.   A few months ago our group said goodbye to one of our members.  I was the one staying, not realizing that I would be saying goodbye soon as well.   Such is the nature of being an expat.

I will cherish my memories and experiences in SouthEast Asia and Singapore.  I will bring back wonderful pictures, some interesting video clips of concerts (I keep forgetting to bring the tripod for Timothy or Mike to use when taping the concerts!), and keepsakes I will treasure always.

I remember when Helen was in grammar school, and one of her friends was from Holland.  They were in Houston for a few years, and wound up moving back.  At the time I had no idea they were ‘expats’ – they just lived in the neighborhood!  I remember Helen receiving an ornament of blue porcelain ‘wooden’ shoes.  I also remember Helen not following up very well with the mail!  We’re in a different time now, blessed with email and Vonage, Skype and iMessaging (although I don’t have that).  Friendships made today, I hope I’ll be able to continue as we all disperse across the world.

Choir members:  thank you for your friendship and support, providing a haven for me each week, a time just for me.  I wish you all the best, and I will look for a choir in Houston!

……”Because I knew you….I have been changed….for good.”    Thank you, AWAIC!

3 responses »

  1. I posted a comment earlier and apparently it did not go through.i agree that it is difficult to say goodby to good friends that you possibly will not cross paths anytime soon. However technology today allows us to visit with them in cyberspace. Looking forward to having you just “down the rad a piece” as your father would say. Love you. M

  2. Truly lovely that you have had such wonderful experiences and built wonderful relationships over the past few years. Those of us here in the states are looking forward to your homecoming. We are at the same time happy for all the friends who made your stay in Singapore so wonderful and who will be kept close in your heart as you return. Enjoy your last weeks! XO

  3. Thank you Terri ! Wonderfully said.
    I guess the fact that our stays are so ephemeral makes it all even more intense… and this intensity will last for a lifetime, believe me ! :0)
    All the best to you in your next steps ! You are a great manager :0))

Leave a comment