You know it’s a Beautiful Day….

Standard
You know it’s a Beautiful Day….

….when you’re willing to bypass ‘green’ taxis and wait on the bus!

We just finished with ‘wet monsoon’ season (I think).  We’ve had a lot of rain the last few weeks, requiring my mom to always be prepared with her umbrella.  She left on Monday, and it seems that so did the rains!  The last few days have given us gorgeous blue skies and high winds.  I’ve had the balcony doors open and have not needed the aircon (much).

Singapore was put on the map by the monsoon winds – 6 months of winds in one direction, 6 months of winds in the other.  The traders came along with one set, stayed for 6 months, and returned home with the next.  In general, the last few months have been the ‘wet’ time.  It rains a lot in Singapore, and you can’t always say we have a dry season.  But, in general, January and February tend to get drier.   Here’s an old blog where I’ve talked about the Peranakan culture (a mixing of the Chinese traders and the Malays on the island) for some more background:  A Beader’s Dream.

I am hoping our dry spell doesn’t last quite as long (or as hard) as last year’s.  It was very bad!   It’s Raining! is when I was so excited to have rain again!

But for now, I’ll enjoy the lovely blue skies.  As noted, I was heading home this afternoon, and truly enjoyed the skies, and (slightly) drier air.  You know you do when you’re willing to walk down to the bus stop, ignore all those empty / available taxis, and wait on the bus to arrive (when you only have one bus to choose from!).  Granted, this time the wait wasn’t going to be that long, but even so, it’s hard to pass up a free cab!

4 minutes to wait - actually, not long...

4 minutes to wait – actually, not long…

I’m sorry, Mom, that you missed out on the gorgeous blue skies, but it was cooler with the rain!  Come back and check out the weather again!

3 responses »

  1. Wouls love to come back. Maybe I will if I venture on the coach side of the airplane. 😇. Love you lots. M

  2. Your mom is going home with treasures of sights, activities and the love of being with family, so blessed. bon

Leave a comment