Claustrophobic? Just a little.

Standard

One thing I love about Singapore is that it has a true mass-transit system – as all big cities should have.  New York, Chicago, even Washington, D.C., all have Mass-Transit, with capital letters.  Houston has mass-transit, lower-case, in name only.  Houston’s Metro system has buses, and a train.  That’s about it.  The only way to get around the city, truly, is by car.   Houston is huge.  It covers over 650 square miles, and has a population of 2.1 million.  Population in the area is actually over 6 million people if you count the Sugarland & Baytown areas w/Houston….it’s hard not to:  there really is no separation between Houston and its’ suburbs.

Singapore covers approximately 240 square miles, and has a population of 4 million people.  Less than half the size, 2/3 the population – or double depending how you count, and a Mass-Transit system which is fantastic.

I don’t miss my car.  Most of the time.  When I have to pick up Timothy at school for an appointment (think orthos and allergists), it is a pain.  But in general, I conquer the metro system on a daily basis.

The train cars and buses are clean (absolutely no food or drink allowed on the MRTs, or even the stations).  In fact, the bubble-tea kiosks that I love, solve that problem:  the plastic cups are sealed on top, and they ‘bag’ your cup w/the straw, so you may carry it on the trains.  Also, everyone is pretty polite.  Ok, there are signs everywhere that say to let the people exit the trains before you attempt to get on, and most follow that suggestion.  Every once in a while, though, you’ll get some guy that stands in the middle of the entrance, blocking all, while you’re pushing to get around him to get out!  But it is rare.

Depending on the time of day, the systems can get a bit crowded.  This mainly affects Mike’s commute, as I travel off-peak times usually.  Even when things are crowded, and I have to stand, it’s not bad.

A couple of weeks ago, though, I was on the train during rush hour times.  You know the time:  when the train gets there, it’s packed to the gills already; some people get off, and you fight with about 20 other people to squeeze into a space from where only 10 exited!

For those that might not be aware, I am slightly claustrophobic.  Just a little.  Not much.  Ok – enough that when I get onto a crowded elevator, my location of choice is back against the wall, in the corner – so I have two sides open.   I also breathe slowly the whole ride.  Luckily I haven’t had the experience of a crowded elevator going up 60 stories!   I have had the experience of an elevator breaking down at IBM, and being stuck in it for a few minutes.  I believe my friend David had to suffer with me on that one!  And, a few years back, Mike, the kids and I took an elevator down a Colorado gold mine shaft – yes, it was a shaft.  The elevator was sized to fit 4 average-sized people.  They put 10 in it.  Thank goodness my kids were little!  I believe I had Timothy in front of me – short enough that he provided me 4 inches between my face & the cage wall!  To this day I still don’t know how I managed to get back IN the elevator to come back up!

Of course, that morning is the day that God had to remind me that I’m underground…..in a tunnel….with no exit.  Generally, I don’t think twice.  If I did, claustrophobia truly would slow me down.  That morning, though, the trains had some issue at the next station.   It’s an odd feeling, traveling at high speed, and just stopping.  Doors don’t open (you just see the concrete walls outside the car).   The car moves again.  It stops again.  There is some announcement about a stopped train ahead.  You’re packed in with a lot of other people, and THE TRAIN IS NOT MOVING!   ARGGHH!!!!  Let me out!

I must say, that’s been the worst.  It wasn’t bad at all, but it is sobering to think about what we take for granted.

As I watch CNN and all the news from the East coast, I feel for all who will be without their mass transportation.   I’m grateful all was shut down and cleared out before the storm hit, and I wish all the best for a speedy clean-up.   Good luck!  We’re thinking of you across the world!   Keep your patience, help your neighbors, and thank your local MTA bus-driver!

4 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear about claustrophobic moment! Mine shaft sounds like it was terrifying. Glad to gear you’re getting around like a pro though. Wish we had more trains for suburban Houston, it sure would help! Take care over there. Miss ya!

    • I hadn’t told you about the mine shaft? Man, I’m not joking when I say it was the size for 4….they crammed 10 of us in there. They guy treated us like puzzle pieces – figuring out who to put in first, and then worked from there. God was looking out for me making sure I had a little one in front of me. You could see the rock wall going past the cage as you went down – right next to you! Those 4 inches were truly appreciated!
      You know I’d love to see you over here!!! 🙂

  2. Hi Terri, Glad you are doing so well adjusting to your new city. I thought you would miss the van…tee hee! I ‘m not fond of close spaces either. The Puls and VanArkels were home over the weekend. What a riot with 5 kidos around the house. Busy little darlings. Jace did the steps, but Jose was too shy of them. She wanted to. She crawls really well. Madie and Nathaniel really play hard and of course always want the same toy. Of course it is such a treat to see Amy and Ali and their spouses too. You take care. Love your blog…Arlene Happy belated anniversary!! Date: Wed, 31 Oct 2012 07:12:42 +0000 To: dalarl6670@hotmail.com

    • I wish I could see them! They were all so adorable over the summer, and I’m sure 2 months later they’re so much bigger!
      Send pictures! (thank you for the Happy Anniversary!) Say hi to all, and give hugs!

Leave a comment