Sailing around the shipping containers

Standard

A couple of weeks ago I had the opportunity to go sailing – the American Women’s Association arranges sailing outings through Keppel Bay Sailing Academy a couple of times a year, and I figured why not!

When we first arrived, Mike was so excited, thinking we’d have many opportunities to sail around Singapore.  Hey, it’s an island, right?  Figured there would be a ton of water activities available.  And there are…..just not as much, nor as prevalent, as you’d think.  For one, Singapore became as economically successful as it is because it’s a port; it’s a major shipping location.  There are beaches, though, as well as wakeboarding (Wakeboarding at Sportsanity or Waketime), canoeing (Singapore Canoe Federation), kayaking around Pulau Ubin (Ubin Kayak) – I’ve done this, it’s great!, and more.

Sailing….well, as I said, there are a lot of shipping container ships around.

Regardless, I headed out one afternoon, and thoroughly enjoyed my time on the 40’ Benteau First Yacht (their name…..I just call it a sailboat!).   Enjoy the pics!

2 responses »

Leave a comment