Cost of an addiction

Standard

I love cream.  The heavier the better.  I love whipped cream – with absolutely no sugar in it.   I enjoy whipping cream in my coffee, and will settle for half and half.

I didn’t realize that moving to Singapore would cause me to have to make some hard decisions.  Yes, we’re an island.  Yes, pretty much all food (except for chicken and eggs!) is imported.  A bottle of wine will put you back a paycheck.  Six cans of Tiger beer will run you S$17.  Yes, a six-pack.  And that’s the cheap beer!  S$28 for 6 bottles of a good beer!  And, you remember my post about not having pigs in a blanket because crescent rolls are S$15 a can?  There’s a Reason I don’t make Pigs in a Blanket here

Moving here I realized that milk and cheese products are expensive as well.

I’m cheap.  I really don’t need a lot of wine, we can eat chicken, and I do limit the number of recipes that call for a lot of cheese (probably healthier for us as well!).

I’ve also realized I do have a breaking point.  Cream.  I have lasted over 2 years, ignoring the cartons of half and half (when I can find them – which isn’t at every store, and isn’t every week!), trying the very (VERY) small cartons of ‘cooking cream’ and ‘whipping cream’, that are NOT the same, but are S$4.00 for a 200 ml carton, on sale – thinking I’m saving money.  The cream in these cartons is horrible….sometimes I cut the top open, and it’s solid inside!  Ok, I like whipped cream, so I just scoop it out and put that in my coffee!

I give up.  I want my cream.

I figure if Mike can pay S$50 for a bottle of wine, I can pay S$10 for a carton of 1/2 and 1/2.

So just to prove to you, here are the pics:

 

Friends – do me a favour:  would one of you head to the store in the States, check out the price for a pint of 1/2 and 1/2, and let me know how much?  Maybe I just remember wrong, and it’s just as expensive over there as here – and I’ll feel better about my addiction!

6 responses »

  1. I feel awful having to tell you that a 1/2GALLON of Lando’Lakes half and half is $4.48 at Walmart without a coupon. I will have heavy cream for you when you come in the summer. Lots of it. Love you. M

  2. Poor Terri. The cheap brand is only a little over 2$. But I buy the good stuff all the time to make ice cream. I’d be in trouble over there. Gotta have some cheese!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Oh, man…….homemade ice cream? Ok…..ice cream? THAT’s another thing that costs an arm and a leg. A pint of Haagen Dazs is s$14-16! I would purchase the cheapo stuff for the kids and Mike – I don’t eat it much at all. I tried it one day, and it was awful! The kids just looked at me like I was crazy – they’ve known it was awful from the start! 🙂

  3. It’s probably best if you don’t know. 😊
    Just buy the cream-you’re worth it and surely Mike would agree! 😄

Leave a comment